Welcome to The Official Site of Author Laura Daleo 

    the official site   

 

REVIEWS

  • 5 stars
ByNicholas Trapperon July 24, 2015

I've been a big fan of good vampire fiction (sorry Twilight fans, I said GOOD vampire fiction), and Immortal Kiss certainly filled that for me. Of course, vampire lore and fiction certainly aren't new genres, and that makes it difficult to introduce something new, unique and exciting to long time fans of the subject. A lot of writers have tried and just fell short by rehashing story lines and plots that have been used over and over again. Because of that, it's always with a fair amount of readiness for disappointment that I get into a new book by a new author.

After finishing the first chapter of Immortal Kiss, I was confident that I was not going to be disappointed in this book. Ms. Daleo has a fantastic talent, both for writing and taking an old, old genre and making it exciting again. Immortal Kiss is a gripping book that mixes old and new vampire lore with some unique twists from the author. People sometimes say that they can't put a book down, but this one really was very difficult to put down, even two hours after I normally would have been asleep.

In short, if you're all about vampire fiction like I am, Immortal Kiss is where it's at right now. The only disappointment I had was that it seems to be the author's only book.

ByHartley Kosterson September 3, 2015
Immortal Kiss is the first published book by this author, but I very much hope that it's not the last. Ms. Daleo definitely has a talent for writing that would be a crime not to follow. In her bio she mentions that she was initially inspired to write by Anne Rice, and I think that Ms. Daleo would make the famous author proud. There's nothing about this story that doesn't deserve a five star rating.

  • ByRainaon September 16, 2015
    The book starts off slow but by the end you are left wanting more. This book has vampires and romance twisted together with some Egyptian gods. A love of one woman who must decide were her heart really lies.

    I hope the next book will tell us more of the gods as well as how a love divided can work. Also hope to see Caleb get hit by love, just to put him in his place.

  • ByKindle Customeron November 21, 2015
    I would like to thank Laura Daleo and Goodreads First Reads for my free copy of "Immortal Kiss". I really enjoyed this book. The storyline was great and the characters were AwEsOmE. Beth knew the mist. When Philippe showed himself and said that he was the mis she was thrilled. She knew Philippe was a vampire but she was not afraid. Philippe and Beth got married. Trouble came when Caleb told her she had another's blood mixed with hers. It was the mist. One night the mist appeared to her in her dream. He was Amon one of the ten originals. He said that she was promised to him. She said she loved Philippe. What are they going to do? This book has plenty of action and suspense. In my opinion it's a great read! But wait, the plot thickens there is a twist at the end. Fortunately the author has promised a sequel. I look forward to reading that one as well!

  • ByCRAZY4PEANUTBUTTERon November 12, 2015
    I loved this book. The characters were interesting and well fleshed out. The plot was good. It is such a unique and fresh take on the origins of vampires and their powers. The Egyptian pantheon twist was really cool. I did think the books pace was a little slow but it did pick up some as it went along. It could have been made a little more exciting though. It's such a fascinating take on the vampire world that I expected more from the book. That being said though I enjoyed the book and want to read more about them.

  • BySplashes Into Bookson November 7, 2015
    This is an intriguing mix of paranormal, mythology, mystery and romance, the first book in a new series.

    This is one of those stories where it would be much too easy to write a review which inadvertently contains spoilers so I’m going to try to avoid naming names or giving too much information regarding the plot – I don’t want to spoil it for anyone else! As a child, Beth was visited by a mist which gave her love, left presents and actually could be seen by others, so wasn’t a figment of an overactive imagination. The being behind the mist claims to love her and, even in her early twenties, it is still influencing her choices in life. A few weeks before here twenty-fifth birthday many things start to be revealed . . . . But I’m not going to tell you them here, you’re need to read the story to find out more!

    This story has a relatively slow start then the pace hots up. As vampires, Egyptian gods and goddesses, twists on ancient myths and romance all come into play, this becomes more of a mystery and the ending leaves the reader happy to have so many things resolved but wanting to read the next book to find out what happens next! I hope I get to read the next book, ‘Bound by Blood’, very soon but it doesn’t appear to be available yet

  • Dec 07, 2015Amanda rated it really liked it
    I received this book through Goodreads Giveaways. I find it worth noting that this is the second giveaway book in a row where lack of proofreading was a serious problem. Spell check alone is not enough. This has no bearing on the actual story, but it does make for a more disjointed reading experience and rankles my inner grammar nazi a bit. On to the actual review.

    The world is, as far as I can tell, modern day. The settings are very well described and several are pretty cool. The story is told from Beth's point of view and so the world is described through her eyes and colored by her feelings and impressions so you experience the world right along with her.

    The characters in this book are a bit odd. Beth makes a lot of sense, and most of the characters make sense most of the time except for a few decisions made that seem like gaping holes in reason. I suppose, however, it can be said that most people make the occasional decision that baffles others so they aren't really all that farfetched in that context. I found the characters to be likeable and generally well formed individuals. The physical descriptions of the characters were rather good, I never found it difficult to picture anyone.

    The story contains a lot of really obvious Anne Rice parallels and definitely draws on pop culture. There are also some really odd notions in here. Honestly towards the beginning I was a bit skeptical. It seemed there were blatant plot holes and story contradictions. . .BUT I have to say it really turned around. Anne Rice parallels aside, it does have a really cool storyline and by the end just about everything makes sense. I find it worth noting that I usually see the general direction a book is going in far in advance and this book really surprised me. If you like vampire novels, pop culture references, and books with a twist I would recommend this book. I may have had some misgivings in the beginning but I actually really enjoyed it. I will definitely be reading the sequel.
    I was given this book for free in exchange for a honest review.

    When I was about halfway through this book, I originally was going to give this book a rating of 3 stars due to several issues I found within this book. The first issue was the spellings and grammars. I found quite a few and it severely impact the rating of this book. the second issue is the timeline of this story. at the beginning of this story, Beth just turned 17 years old and when she net Phillippe, the time line seemed to get blurred there and before I know it, she is approaching the age of 25 years old. Between the gap of the years, the author basically wrote that all Phillipe and Beth ever does was making love for years. That really threw me off because there were no indication of how many years had passed by. It confused me as a reader so the rating of this book has been affected.

    This story is amazing and it really does have potential to be one of the top bestselling books, but it will not due to the issues I mentioned above. I believe that these timeline gap need to be expanded or clearly explained as to why there are gaps and lovemaking cannot be the only reason. For some reason, it really belittle the very reason of why they truly love each other, or so they thought.

    However, the ending truly surprised me with a major cliffhanger that got me hooked on to find out what happen next by reading the second book of this series. For that, I decided to increase the book rating to 4 stars! I believe that this book does have its potential, so I can only hope that the next book will be more exciting and better than this book.

    I would recommend this book to young adults and older, only if they are not too critic , but to take pleasure out of reading this book despite its flaws.

  • Dec 10, 2015Barb (Boxermommyreads) rated it really liked it
    Shelves: 2015
    Let me start by saying I would actually prefer to give this book 3.5 stars, but since this is Goodreads and all that...I will go ahead and give it 4 here. I was also provided a copy of this book by the author in exchange for an honest review. I wasn't really sure what to expect when I began this book. I have always enjoyed vampires, even as a little kid, but "Twilight" kind of ruined them for me for a while. Now, all you "Twilight" lovers, don't blast me. I devoured the entire series when they came out and even though Bella drove me insane and I never really liked her, it actually took me years to become jaded (and a bad casting of Kristen Stewart but that's another story).

    Ever since Beth was a young child, she has been visited at home by "The Mist." Now somehow, Beth comes to assume this mist is a vampire and over the years, with kind gestures such as love notes, flowers, etc., she falls in love. A few weeks before her 25th birthday, Beth's boyfriend/best friend, Danny, wants to get married so she demands the mist appear or she will leave him forever. Guess what, she was right and in floats Phillipe. The story unfolds from there.

    There were a few things I didn't like about the book, but some resolved themselves. I don't like "insta-love" but since this is a vampire we are talking about, most have the ability to compel people to do whatever, so I think in this case it's allowed and it didn't bother me too much. There were a few typos, which irritated me a tad, but let's get real, they didn't interfere with the story. Also, the big one, Beth was super annoying during at least half of the book. In fact, on page 208, I made the comment "I want to strangle her." But the good outweighs the bad.

    Daleo works the vampire history into mythology in a really refreshing way. There is also this uber-intimidating "Council of Ten" which governs all things vampiric. I loved learning more about them and the vampire history. Also, I adore Phillipe's friend and maker, Caleb. He is what I expect from vampires - no tolerance for mere humans and a mean side.

    I am glad I gave this book a chance. There is a sequel coming and although unsure when it will be released, I will be keeping my eyes open for it. I need to find out what happens next and as mentioned, the last 1/4 of the book is so interesting and eventful, I want to believe the author has only bigger and better things in store for the readers.

I was given this book for free in exchange for a honest review.

When I was about halfway through this book, I originally was going to give this book a rating of 3 stars due to several issues I found within this book. The first issue was the spellings and grammars. I found quite a few and it severely impact the rating of this book. the second issue is the timeline of this story. at the beginning of this story, Beth just turned 17 years old and when she net Phillippe, the time line seemed to get blurred there and before I know it, she is approaching the age of 25 years old. Between the gap of the years, the author basically wrote that all Phillipe and Beth ever does was making love for years. That really threw me off because there were no indication of how many years had passed by. It confused me as a reader so the rating of this book has been affected.

This story is amazing and it really does have potential to be one of the top bestselling books, but it will not due to the issues I mentioned above. I believe that these timeline gap need to be expanded or clearly explained as to why there are gaps and lovemaking cannot be the only reason. For some reason, it really belittle the very reason of why they truly love each other, or so they thought.

However, the ending truly surprised me with a major cliffhanger that got me hooked on to find out what happen next by reading the second book of this series. For that, I decided to increase the book rating to 4 stars! I believe that this book does have its potential, so I can only hope that the next book will be more exciting and better than this book.

I would recommend this book to young adults and older, only if they are not too critic , but to take pleasure out of reading this book despite its flaws.

A Great Start to A New Series!
This is my first read by this author and I am seriously impressed with her work. It's no secret to anyone who knows me or follows my reviews that I am a total lover of all things paranormal, especially vampires. I absolutely loved this book, especially the twists on the vampire lore, the classic vampire is great, but this breed is awesome. The read is fast paced, unique, exciting, and the author is so very descriptive, with such vivid imagery that you are really into the story. I was hooked right from the very beginning. Definitely not a book that you will want to put down. The characters are very well developed and interesting. I love the romance and the plot twists. I can't wait to read the next in the series. I was generously given a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review.

Immortal Kiss was a very interesting read. Not what I would normally pick out to read. I liked that it started when the main female character was young. It gave it much more depth from the beginning, made it easier to grasp a lot of her responses to events in the storyline. I was a little taken aback by the idea of two main male characters, with the second one coming in so close to the end of the book. It was an unexpected twist to the plot. Even though it wasn't my normal type of read, I'm hooked! Can't wait to read the second book of this series!

  • Kristen Chandler's review
    Jan 27, 16
    really liked it
    Read in January, 2016

    Okay. I am a little skeptical about vampire books because I just got burned out on them. And sometimes they just get repetitive. I mean you can only spin a vampire story so many ways and most of that has covered.
    And I will admit, I was a little hesitant when I started. I mean "the mist"? I thought "Oh wow, this is going to be hard for me to get into.

    WRONG.

    Fortunately, the book picked up and got more interesting. A lot more interesting. And the author definitely did a good job of originality with the vampire concept.
    There were a few things I didn't care for much in the book, but they weren't bad enough to keep me from enjoying the book.

    For example, the instalove between Phillipe and Beth. And Beth and Amon. Yes. There's a love triangle (which I actually love). And then Beth came across as annoying some of the time.

    But the things I liked outweighed the things I didn't like. While I didn't care too much for the instalove, I liked the concept and the love triangle. And there was so much deception! I also thought the writing was really good. The vampires were a bit much at times, but take into consideration they are hundreds of years old. I liked the concept of Beth being half-vampire and half-human, and how she was half-vampire was intriguing. There was a lot of intensity,especially towards the end. I am really glad theres going to be a sequel because I'm looking forward to it.

    I give this book 4 stars!

  • Lisa's review
    Jan 21, 16
    it was amazing
    Read from January 22 to 23, 2016

    I won a signed copy of this book in a contest. I started reading this book this afternoon and had to finish it before going to bed. It was such an awesome book that I actually went online to Amazon to see if the next one In the series was out. Which it was not lol. I am looking forward to the next book!!!

  • Teresa rated it really liked it  ·  
    Immortal Kiss is a paranormal story with a slightly different twist. At times I was confused, but this was a good thing. Wrapping my head around the plot as the focus changes was a lot of fun. I was guessing how things were going to work out constantly. I very much enjoyed reading this book.

    I am looking forward to reading more books by Laura Daleo.

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

  • 4.0 out of 5 stars... been a couple of four years yet she didn’t love him that way
  • ByAngel Hatfieldon March 19, 2016
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Danny and Beth had been a couple of four years yet she didn’t love him that way. The love belonged to the mist/ vampire. But Danny wanted Beth to move in with him and then he said choose one of us, you can’t have both. Beth would not choose and Danny left. Beth was six the first time she remembered seeing the mist. Finally Beth told the mist to show himself or she would walk away. He appears and talks to Beth, he says his name is Philippe and he has moved from France to be close to her. Philippe is now her neighbor. Philippe is a 725 year old vampire but immortals don’t really think about time. Philippe has a caretaker named Betty and she would take care of Beth until Philippe arouse for the night. Beth decides and stays with Philippe . But then Amon enters the picture and tells Beth he was promised to him by her mother. But Beth has already married Philippe. Amon also tells her he was the mist all this time and with her all her life. Caleb is Philippe’s maker and contacts the council to decide what is to be done as neither Philippe or Amon wants to give Beth up.
  • I liked this story a lot . A totally different take on a vampire story. I didn’t like the fact of the blood lottery but understood it. Also felt Beth’s mother was very selfish to give a promise of her daughter so she could live. I loved the characters of Beth, Philippe and Amon. can’t wait for the next story. I recommend.

ByALYon April 10, 2016
I love a good vampire book. But I think this book was a bit slow in the beginning for me. Beth being in love with mist? Weird right? I thought so too. But if you read on you learn more about this. I think the book was interesting after it got going for me. I had in read more about this mist. I had to find out what it was all about. * I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review*
Maybe being a vampire isn’t what’s it’s cracked up to be. Instead of a few years of betrayals, deceit and the anguish of a lost love, you could face an eternity of it. Then again, With Beth’s tender heart still yearning for Amon, lost for five years behind a masking spell, I imagine every day felt like an eternity. She will do anything to find him, risk everything and vows to somehow make Osiris, Isis and Hathor pay, but first she needs to find them.

Then, Amon suddenly returns, the spell has been broken and Beth is torn between two lovers, the man of her heart, the one she is blood-bonded with and the man she married while thinking he was another Amon. Phillipe deceived her, but she feels something for him, just not eternal love. When deadly human hunters come gunning for vampires, Beth will face yet another betrayal in the cruelest form. Her bond with Amon becomes her greatest strength as she discovers the whereabouts of the three vampire gods she seeks. Does she still want revenge? Is it time for retribution for the pain she has suffered? Will she ever get her happy ever after with Amon?

Laura Daleo’s Bound By Blood is equal parts anguish, frustration and joy as reunions are marred by death and anger. Beth has a huge heart, but she seemed to lack the will to go on much longer, as her self-destructive ways start to fill her nights. Was it the lack of Amon in her life that has made her a clinging vine? Phillipe was like a chameleon who slipped up a few times while Amon was almost too quietly patient, then again, he can afford to be as an ancient vampire. The rest of the cast each have their own special personalities from flashy demon to kind and caring father-figure vampire. Love them!

If you are looking to enjoy a paranormal romance without the in-your-face steam, Laura Daleo’s writing gets my “Mom Safe” approval! A little high on angst, but definitely some great action that never gets too bloody or gory! It’s nice to find “nice” vamps to spend an afternoon with!

I received this copy from Laura Daleo in exchange for my honest review.
I must say that this book is much better than the first book in the series based on the literary style and grammatical perspective. The timeline shifts has been eased into from one thing to the next great and is a definite improvement. I could hardly find any faults in this book, so kudo to Lauren!

The story, however, is somewhat disappointing to me. I was entirely surprised at how much time had passed when I first started reading this and found that Beth had wallowed and ached for 5 years and yet still married to Phillipe. I thought that this isn't who Beth is supposed to be as a character. Beth shouldn't wallow for 5 long years. I would have expected her to seek him out and tried to break the spell. Instead, she waited around until spell breaks. The story would not have taken off unless Phillipe did something to snap her back into focus. I honestly am surprised that they are still married. there are a lot of unresolved feelings and issues between them two. But I understand how it all played out at the end of the book. As I read throughout the story, I began to see who Beth is as a character. I just wished Beth's character shouldn't be out of sort at the beginning since this is not who she truly is. But that is only my opinion and the author has the power to make this story written as it should be. All in all, the book is great. I would recommend this book to my friends who are into paranormal romance.

I was gifted this book by the Author for an honest review.

I was so excited to read this and it didn't disappoint.
After Amon's disappearance and the web lies Phillipe spun Beth is hurting. She loves Amon but she also to a point loves Phillipe. Beth is a kind soul and does not want to hurt anyone.

Amon is back. 5 years he lost with Beth and he wants justice for what Hathor did. But Hathor has gone missing along with Osiris and Isis. A fire demon is recruited to help find them. When they're located in London the Ten go on the hunt.

But i have to say the beginning of the book was starting to annoy me. Beth came across as very immature. To much time was spent on Beth and her woe me.
I almost gave up at one point but i pushed though. When Phillipe took matters into his own hands i was like "yay". From that point the story took off for me. I did feel i wanted to slap Beth when she got all upset over what Phillipe did. She was carrying on with Amon. Made no secret she was in love with him. But that was ok. Pfft. Of course Beth went running into Amon's arms. I felt a little sorry for Phillipe he was jerked around a fair bit. But Amon and Beth were meant to be together, Phillipe and Beth just refused to see that.

There was a sweet moment between Amon and Beth. Considering we've waited 2 books for it. I felt it kind of fell flat and was over way to quickly. But it was sweet.

All in all besides the beginning i really enjoyed reading this. Thank you Laura. Great work.

The author gave me this book in exchange to an honest review.
We found a very hurt And conflcted Beth because the lost of her true love, and after 5 years of sorrow when she almost lost hope he comes back to her because the spell that a very obsessive vampire goddess is finally broken... So far so good, but really I wanted to slap Beth because
All the childish decisions!! And C'mon Amon what is wrong with you she is your eternal promise your blood runs through her veins!! You can't just play nice guy all the time !!!
Im not planning to spoiled for you guys, I liked this book but I liked better inmortal kiss If you are a fan of justice and happy endings this book is for you!

Dianne
Jul 28, 2016Dianne rated it it was amazing
Shelves: paranormal-romance, own, author-requested-review
Maybe being a vampire isn’t what’s it’s cracked up to be. Instead of a few years of betrayals, deceit and the anguish of a lost love, you could face an eternity of it. Then again, With Beth’s tender heart still yearning for Amon, lost for five years behind a masking spell, I imagine every day felt like an eternity. She will do anything to find him, risk everything and vows to somehow make Osiris, Isis and Hathor pay, but first she needs to find them.

Then, Amon suddenly returns, the spell has been broken and Beth is torn between two lovers, the man of her heart, the one she is blood-bonded with and the man she married while thinking he was another Amon. Phillipe deceived her, but she feels something for him, just not eternal love. When deadly human hunters come gunning for vampires, Beth will face yet another betrayal in the cruelest form. Her bond with Amon becomes her greatest strength as she discovers the whereabouts of the three vampire gods she seeks. Does she still want revenge? Is it time for retribution for the pain she has suffered? Will she ever get her happy ever after with Amon?

Laura Daleo’s Bound By Blood is equal parts anguish, frustration and joy as reunions are marred by death and anger. Beth has a huge heart, but she seemed to lack the will to go on much longer, as her self-destructive ways start to fill her nights. Was it the lack of Amon in her life that has made her a clinging vine? Phillipe was like a chameleon who slipped up a few times while Amon was almost too quietly patient, then again, he can afford to be as an ancient vampire. The rest of the cast each have their own special personalities from flashy demon to kind and caring father-figure vampire. Love them!

If you are looking to enjoy a paranormal romance without the in-your-face steam, Laura Daleo’s writing gets my “Mom Safe” approval! A little high on angst, but definitely some great action that never gets too bloody or gory! It’s nice to find “nice” vamps to spend an afternoon with!


Another fascinating episode in the saga of Beth and Amon. Romantic and sensual without being graphically erotic, this novel reminds me of the classic romance novels of old. Rebecca, Wuthering Heights, et al. I love the authors style and ability to create characters that are believable and realistic.

As an independent reviewer for Romance Authors that Rock, I give this 4.5 hearts. It's almost perfect!! I don't know if making it not be completely from Beth's point of view would make it perfect or completely ruin it however!!

  • Completed on: 08/12/2016
Review Rating: 4 stars
Reviewed By Anne-Marie Reynolds for Readers’ Favorite

Bound by Blood: Immortal Kiss by Laura Daleo is a paranormal vampire story. Five years ago, Amon left Beth for Hathor, leaving her with Phillipe. For five years, Beth has waited, searching for Amon, but never finding him. Hathor has bound him in a spell so strong that no one can see his whereabouts. Bound by blood, Beth will not stop looking for him, and she will risk everything she has to find him and take revenge on Hathor, Isis, and Osiris. Nothing is what it seems though and, as fog writhes its way through London, there is a new breed of hunter on the loose. Betrayal, love, and anger wreak havoc on Beth and she is forced to make a decision – Phillipe or Amon? Her decision will change things forever for one of them, but who will it be?

Bound by Blood: Immortal Kiss by Lara Daleo is the second book in a series. I didn’t read the first book, but it didn’t make things difficult to understand as there was enough history for me to pick up the story. I found it a little slow to start with, but the pace did increase quite quickly and it turned into a good story. I did want to give Beth a good shake on more than one occasion – some of her actions were a little childish, but I guess that was part of the storyline. The character development and the plot were good but, although it didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the book, I feel that it would be better understood if book 1 was read first. Good book for fans of vampire and paranormal happenings.

  • Completed on: 08/15/2016
Review Rating: 5 stars!
Reviewed By Jack Magnus for Readers’ Favorite

Bound by Blood: Immortal Kiss is a romantic paranormal fantasy novel written by Laura Daleo. Beth has been waiting for him to come back to her for five long years now. Amon was her mysterious companion made of mist as she was growing up, and when she discovered her bedroom filled with rose petals, she realized that she had come to love him. Philippe had taken advantage of her, however, and she had married him, believing he was indeed her Amon, a vampire god. When she became aware of Philippe’s duplicity, her long vigil for her true companion began. Hathor, another vampire god, had wanted Amon for herself, and Isis and Osiris had conspired with her to cast the spell which took him away. The sadness of each of the five anniversaries of that day was a visceral thing that only the solace of wine could ease, at least temporarily. Her friend, Ptah, decided that Beth needed a party to cheer her up, a fancy dress party filled with kings and queens wearing masks. Beth wasn't all that sure about the idea, but allowed his enthusiasm to sway her. Then, it happened at that gala evening; the stranger who greeted her as she sheltered herself underneath a staircase was Amon. He had returned.

Laura Daleo's romantic paranormal fantasy, Bound by Blood: Immortal Kiss, continues the saga of Beth and her immortal companion, Amon, whose return means so many things to her. Philippe, her husband these five years, is asserting the primacy of their marriage, and Beth must reconcile her mixed feelings about him with her desire to be with Amon. There's also the matter of apprehending Hathor, Isis and Osiris and bringing them to justice. Bound by Blood is a marvelous tale with a plot that deftly blends fantasy, adventure and action. Beth is a strong, competent character who is so well-suited to be a companion to her vampire god lover. And while there's any number of vampire romance novels out there, this paranormal fantasy stands out as unique, noteworthy and a cut above the rest. Daleo’s writing is smooth and fluid, and her story is most enjoyable. Bound by Blood: Immortal Kiss is highly recommended.

  • Completed on: 08/17/2016
Review Rating: 5 stars!
Reviewed By Samantha Dewitt (Rivera) for Readers’ Favorite

Beth’s life had never been easy, but when she found her one true love she thought things would finally be right, until she discovered that Philippe was not the one she thought he was, and Amon could truly be hers. But before she can find happiness, the one she truly loves is ripped from her yet again, only to return many years later with a strong desire to right all the wrongs of the past. But will Amon and the other members of The Ten be able to fight with three of their own? Will they be able to track them down and will they also be able to fight against the hunters who have sought to kill them all? In Bound by Blood: Immortal Kiss by Laura Daleo, there is no easy answer to anything, but especially about the future for Beth.

This book was interesting and the characters really draw you in. Beth seems what you would expect in a young woman torn between the two men she loves most, and for each of them the torture she experiences is even worse. It seems like you’re really there in the middle of their conflict and that you’re experiencing all of the action and romance that takes place for each of the other characters, with Jaffa and the rest of The Ten, and even characters like Danny and Hypatia, who each need something from them, though they may not know what at the time. Bound by Blood by Laura Daleo is definitely a book I would recommend to anyone.

  • Immortal Kiss is a romantic paranormal fantasy written by Laura Daleo. Since she was very young, Beth has had a secret friend who she never really got to see. He came to see her as a mist that would sometimes assume the general shape of a man. On her seventeenth birthday, he covered her bed with rose petals, and Beth could not help but realize that she was in love with this otherworldly being. Beth's best friend, Danny, has also been in love with her for years and, several weeks before she turned 25, suggested that, since they'd been going out together for four years, the two of them start living together. They were sitting on their favorite bench overlooking the beach when he made that suggestion, and he was tired of hearing about the mist and dealing with the emotional ambivalence Beth was feeling. That evening, Beth would finally get to meet the being behind the mist, and nothing would ever be the same again.

Laura Daleo's debut romantic fantasy novel, Immortal Kiss, is enthralling and entertaining. Beth's phantom lover turns out to be very real and quite irresistible, and it's fun to watch the two of them bring their metaphysical relationship into the real world. Phillipe Delon is a dream come true for Beth, and she's quickly swept up into his world, but Daleo plants the seeds of discord early on in their budding romance, cueing the reader for something momentous to occur. I enjoyed seeing how the author tied vampires and vampirism with Egyptian mythology making her tale stand out and giving it dimension. While the story has a strong romantic theme, it contains no sexually explicit or erotic scenes, and the coming of age story implicit in Immortal Kiss would seem suitable for mature young adults as well as for an adult audience. Daleo has a planned sequel, Bound by Blood, which promises to continue the compelling tale of Beth and her vampire. Immortal Kiss is highly recommended.  
Reviewed By Jack Magnus for Readers’ Favorite


  • Gripped in the mystery of the mist from the very beginning, your curiosity will be even further piqued as Laura Daleo unveils layer after layer of the unknown in Immortal Kiss. This sexy and romantic fantasy will have you on the edge of your seat with bated breath, anxiously waiting to turn to the next page. Daleo has crafted a very different take on vampires and romance. She leads you along a thrilling journey filled to the brim with questions, and a nagging feeling that there are deep, dark secrets that just might put her main character, Beth, at great risk. Writing from Beth’s perspective, Daleo allows you to get inside the mind of this smitten young woman. As she plunges further and further into the vampiric world of her beloved, will she come to recognize herself as being captivated or captured?

Immortal Kiss is an exceptionally well-written paranormal fiction. The concept of shifting from living a human life to existing in a world of vampires is one that kept me from putting Daleo's Immortal Kiss down. I simply had to know what was going to happen next. What would become of Beth? Would she be safe and would she make the right decisions? I could almost hear her thoughts as my own. I could almost feel the spine tingling fear that she felt at times. Ah, and due to Laura Daleo's skillful writing, I could feel the depth of her love for her beloved vampire mate. I highly recommend Immortal Kiss for vampire and romance lovers alike!
Reviewed By Janelle Alex, Ph.D. for Readers’ Favorite
  • I absolutely LOVED your book!!!! I will recommend to all of my friends and co-workers and I LOVE your social media keeps me smiling on those rough days at work...keep up the great work!    Ava Little

  • Dear Laura, I wanted to say that I am pleased to become acquainted through you. You had added me to a 'twitter' connection, and it allowed me to become affiliated with your work. From one author to another. I'm glad to meet a fellow vampire lover. We 'immortal' creator's should always stick together.        Sasha George 

  • I absolutely love this book! it was a great read, you have to keep turning the page to see what comes next!     Lori Eden


  •  Just when I thought I couldn't take another vampire book, along comes Immortal Kiss and I am hooked again!  I loved the different twists on vampire lore which kept me intrigued.  The plot was fast paced, exciting and completely unpredictable.  I don't want to give anything away, but I loved the inclusion of the Egyptian Gods and there's going to be a sequel.  I can't wait!!!     The Librarian


  •  I took this book with me on a beach camping trip and couldn't put it down!  The premise of the book is, of course, about vampires but this one has a very suspenseful twist.  If you like vampire books, you will love this one.  This book develops the characters in such a way that I found myself really caring about them (about vampires!) and I can't wait to read the next one to continue to stay in their lives.     Verna Jaggers
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-pounding suspense!

By Lee Broom September 3, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

What a heart-pounding book! I loved this story and couldn't stop reading it. From the first page, my attention was captured with the young woman coming home from college to a nightmare. Finding her parents murdered and her brother missing launches Claire into a crazy intense search for answers that involve the supposedly peaceful race of vampires. It's a story that carries the reader along through a suspenseful, emotional journey of shocking and impacting events, through encounters with humans and vampires alike. I loved the way the otherworldly vampires fit so naturally in this story and in Claire's life...it's an intense, also beautiful story with a love that grows in the midst of the upheaval. I was totally into the story and the main characters, Claire and Connor, and all that happened to them... I can't wait to read more from this author, Laura Daleo. I highly recommend this book, The Vow.


ByMaria Ton September 4, 2016
Claire never expected when her parents forgot to pick her up from the airport that something so horrible had happened to them. Seeing their gruesome murder firsthand she can’t just wait for the detective to figure out what happened to them and to top it all off her 17-year-old brother is missing. She is on a mission and she won’t stop until she learns the truth.

Claire is one determined young woman. She cares for her family beyond anything else and will do anything for them. With her brother missing the lengths she goes to are pretty extraordinary. Unfortunately, she can also be a bit reckless and if it wasn’t for allot of luck she would have been killed several times over.

Conner is all sorts of swagger but he also has a sweet side and when he promises something he will do whatever he can to keep them.

The story takes you into a world where vampires not only exist, but everyone knows about them and co-exists with them. The mystery of what happened to Claire’s parents and where her brother is takes you on a roller coaster and the ending is one you do not see coming.

The only downsides to this book were that Claire’s recklessness was a bit overdone especially with her not learning from her mistakes. I also thought the romance part of the story could have used a bit more to it to make it feel more real.

The shining star was definitely the murder mystery and Detective Reynolds with his determination to find the truth made this a great story to read!

BySeraphiaon September 6, 2016
***I received an EXCLUSIVE copy of this book in exchange for my unbiased review of it. The opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s. ***
The Vow by Laura Daleo is a vampire paranormal novel about a young woman named Claire who comes home to find her parents murdered and her brother missing. When she comes home from college to spend a little time at home after the finals instead of being greeted by her parents she finds them absent from picking her up at the airport. So when she gets a cab home she is greeted by the sight of nosey neighbors watching the scene unfold of police investigating her home where the dead bodies of her parents lay and to find out that her younger brother JJ has seemingly disappeared. By the looks of the scene it appears as though vampires have broken The Vow and have begun to feed on humans once again but if so…where is her brother? And what does that mean for all humans?
When you first start reading The Vow you are given The Vow that vampires take in connection to no longer feeding from humans. It immediately grips you and makes you want to learn more about the Vow itself and whether vampires are actually breaking it and why. The story is very engaging as we go along with Claire as she struggles to discover what has happened to her parents and why this happened to them and to discover what happened to her brother, get him back and try to continue on with life as best she can. But her days are filled with trouble as she decides to do her own investigating into the vampires hoping to find one who will lead her to her parents killer(s). But’s just really not that simple.
I honestly really enjoyed this book and liked Claire from the beginning but as the story progresses she begins to become…annoying. She continuously puts herself in danger by going and dealing with vampires on her own knowing that they can read her thoughts and thus manipulate her. Now I know that I would do just about anything to seek justice for my loved ones if they were brutally killed but I would not put my own life at risk especially after one close encounter with a lying vampire but yet she pursues and pursues. Thankfully her friendship and quickly developing love/romance with a vampire named Conner keeps her from being killed as well as the well timed intervention of a Detective Reynolds a couple of times as well. But it just gets annoying when she continues to repeat the same actions over and over again.
This is a really interesting book and has quite a few twists and turns that you just don’t see coming but that’s what really makes it a good read. I really found it hard to put it down to go do other things or even sleep because I wanted to know what was going to happen next and to learn the truth behind what happened to Claire’s parents and her brother. Let me tell you…it’s worth the read. There are a few small errors throughout this book but they are not that bad to detract from my enjoyment of it overall. I rate this book 4.5 out of 5 stars. Looking for a good vampire novel with a twist? Pick this book up. You’ll definitely enjoy.

* Sep 9 Book Junky Girls - The Vow - My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Claire never expected when her parents forgot to pick her up from the airport that something so horrible had happened to them. Seeing their gruesome murder firsthand she can’t just wait for the detective to figure out what happened to them and to top it all off her 17-year-old brother is missing. She is on a mission and she won’t stop until she learns the truth.

Claire is one determined young woman. She cares for her family beyond anything else and will do anything for them. With her brother missing the lengths she goes to are pretty extraordinary. Unfortunately, she can also be a bit reckless and if it wasn’t for allot of luck she would have been killed several times over.

Conner is all sorts of swagger but he also has a sweet side and when he promises something he will do whatever he can to keep them.

The story takes you into a world where vampires not only exist, but everyone knows about them and co-exists with them. The mystery of what happened to Claire’s parents and where her brother is takes you on a roller coaster and the ending is one you do not see coming.

The only downsides to this book were that Claire’s recklessness was a bit overdone especially with her not learning from her mistakes. I also thought the romance part of the story could have used a bit more to it to make it feel more real.

The shining star was definitely the murder mystery and Detective Reynolds with his determination to find the truth made this a great story to read!

Get the book on Amazon
http://amzn.to/2cngHB9

View all my reviews
Posted by Crystal Maria at 4:19 PM 

* Stephanie Herman
Sep 10, 2016 Stephanie Herman rated it it was amazing
Shelves: reviewed
The Vow by Laura Daleo was extraordinary! I could not put this book down. In the 1800s, it was decided that instead of a war no one could win, there would be peace among the humans and vampires. Now, present day, Claire comes home from college and is not greeted by her parents and brother at the airport. She hails a cab and returns to her childhood home to find her parents dead and her brother missing. The lead detective on the scene seems to be doing everything he can to solve the crime but Claire can't just sit around doing nothing. She starts to investigate on her own but her days are filled with trouble while trying to find someone who will lead her to her parents killer. I enjoyed this book immensely. It is filled with mystery, intrigue and suspense. I was hooked from the very beginning and recommend this book to all lovers of the paranormal. *Copy gifted to me in exchange for an honest review*

* Sep 11, 2016 Angel (The Book Spot) rated it it was amazing.  Review to follow once im fully awake and my brain is at full function after coffee.......
I was kindly gifted this book by the author in exchange for an honest review.
To start with i really enjoyed reading this book. The story was well paced and flowed perfectly.
This story will draw you in from the first page. I enjoyed Claire finding herself.
The book is named after a pact that was formed over a hundred years ago where the Vampires agreed to not hunt and kill the humans and the humans to not hunt and kill the Vampires. It worked well..... Till now!
Claire comes home from college to find her parents home surrounded by police. Shortly thereafter she discovers that her parents are dead and her brother JJ is missing. Needing answers she volunteers at The Vampire Centre. Her goal is to interrogate the Vampires.
Claire came across as rather naive at first as she's always putting herself in danger in a bid to find out the truth. But her opps moments i think were down to her having slayer blood in her veins. Like curiosity killed the cat kind of thing.
Connor is a charmer and was sweet but i felt i need more from him he just seemed kind of lost like a third wheel or something. Then the next thing i know he's declaring his love for Claire.
Claire turned in a right ole sluth trying to find the killers of her parents and her missing brother JJ.
Some surprising twists and turns and i knew it moments. Would have been nice if there was a little romance before the declaration of "I love You" But that's personal choice as i like a little romance with my reading. This is a very good Fantasy/Murder/Mystery.
I found myself hoping to find out more on Nate and Parker to and was gutted when it became apparent i wasn't going to. 
I would't say this ended on a cliff hanger but just when things were all coming together it did end. Leaving me with a few questions. So i do hope there is going to be a follow on to this book.
I need to know what happened to JJ?
What is with the Formulas?
What this Society is?
What direction are Connor and Claire heading?
What is the importance of the Letter?
And just who is Doctor Phelps? Because there is way more to her than we're lead to believe....
Book two pretty please....

* Sep 14, 2016 Dianne rated it it was amazing
Shelves: paranormal-romance, vampires, own, suspense, author-requested-review
A world where the vampires are out of the coffin and part of life? A truce was made long ago between humans and the vampires, no more sucking the blood of the living and no staking of the undead, sounds fair, right? Thank you Laura Daleo for a fabulous and fresh twist on our favorite creatures that go bump in the night! Too bad someone decided to break the rules. Settle in and prepare for The Vow and all of its twists, turns, and suspense as one human vows to find the vampire that drained her parents.

When the world’s most punctual parents failed to pick her up from the airport, Claire taxied her way home to discover her world turned inside out when she learns her parents have been murdered. The cause? Exsanguination, their blood was drained by someone with fangs and her brother, JJ was missing.

Alone, with no idea what to do or where to go, Claire takes to doing her own detective work when the police procedures seem too slow, with too many rules to follow. From volunteering in a Vampire Center where vamps line up to get blood by the bag, to naively accepting meetings with vampires, Claire puts her life on the line in her quest and desperation to find her brother.
What she didn’t expect to find was a vampire she could trust, one that would look out for her and even help her in her quest. Breaking laws was not an obstacle for either of them. But feeling more than camaraderie can be pretty scary.

Let go of reality, forget the rules, ignore that detective show you love, Laura Daleo is in charge and from start to finish, what Claire will do to find her brother and justice for her parents will resonate perfectly. Claire is headstrong, a little out of her league, but determined and wants justice served, but are the parents she knew and loved more than who they seemed to be? 

Ms. Daleo has some major talent going on here and it shines through like the North Star. Shocking revelations, heartbreaking moments and characters that make you either love them or hate them, this tapestry of words from Laura Daleo is a fabulous read from start to finish!

I received this copy from Laura Daleo in exchange for my honest review.


*  Sep 17, 2016 Joetta Spurling rated it it was amazing
I'm an independent reviewer for Romance Authors That Rock. I was given this copy for my honest review. I give 5 stars. 
This book takes place in a world where vampires and humans have made a vow to stop the killing. There has been to much on both sides. But some, vampires and humans, don't agree with this vow. They like the old ways.
Claire Matthews is stuck at the airport. Her parents were to pick her but they haven't shown up. She has called them and even her brother. Now she has given up on them and has taken a cab home. That is when her life is turned upside down. Why are the cops at her house? What has happened? 
Claire finds help in her search for answers in the most unusual of place. Can she trust Connor not just to help her find the answers to her parents death but with her heart.
I liked this look into the world of vampires. It was a nice twist to the story. I would recommend this book to YA and up and to anyone that likes vampire books.

* Amanda (kanksbooklife)
Sep 25, 2016 Amanda (kanksbooklife) rated it really liked it
Shelves: read-in-2016, netgalley-reviewed
*Provided by NetGalley for an honest review*

The vampire vow is being broken by none other than a human! Claire is home for vacation from college and comes to find cops at family home. Welcome home, please identify your dead parents…. Her suspenseful quest to find her parents murderer and locate her missing brother kept me guessing all the way to the end. I was sucked in from the very first page. I loved the new take on the vampire culture and the vow, leading to vampire centers where they get their blood through transfusion was a new one for me. Even though there’s a top of the line detective on the case, Claire will do whatever it takes to solve the mystery.

I felt a bit cut off at the end of the book, not enough to say a cliff hanger was there, but enough to have questions lingering. I just want to know what happens to them all in the next year … 

* Sep 24, 2016Miranda (MirandasBookBlog) rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: vampire, 2016
Kindly provided to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Originally posted @ Miranda's Book Blog

It's been awhile since I've read a murder mystery. From the very start Claire is thrown into a world of tragedy and turmoil. Finding her parents brutally murdered then to top it off her brother is missing. I ended up reading this one in pretty much one sitting. This story pulled me in from start to finish! 

The beginning was a tad bit slow but the pace of both the plot and the character development progressed very nicely. I would say once the story was set, after the first chapter the pace was perfect!

There is a bit of romance in this one and I loved the realistic way in which their relationship grew. Claire meets Connor whom I adored from the first time we get to meet him! Now I would say that the romance is definitely more in the background in this one, but it was perfect for the story. 

* Sep 30, 2016 Silvia rated it really liked it
I recived a free copy of the vow in exchange of an honest review:
A paranormal vampire story that grips you from page 1. Claire is a young woman who is willing to go through hell if she needs to in order to discover who and why her parents were killed, Claire is a lovable character but oh so annoying at the same time!!but how to blame her when she just need to know no matter what..
And then you have sweet sexy Connor a vampire that keeps Claire from dying on her restless seek for the true.
What I loved about The Vow is the whole idea about vampires and human living together and the fact that Ms Daleo likes to play with your mind and when you think you have all figure it out then comes some twists and turns that will keep you guessing until the end..
What I hated is not to know... I still have so many questions, what about Claire and Connor? the story really end here??
If you are a sucker for vampire books you need to read this book!

* Oct 13, 2016 Donna Fernstrom rated it really liked it
Young adult vampire mystery/mild romance. An easy read, with some twists and turns to the plot to liven things up.
The good: I actually couldn't guess the ending to this one. The mystery stayed a mystery, with a lot of blind alleys along the way.
The not-so-good: Bland characters. Not much to make this book stand out from the pack.

  • Barb (Boxermommyreads)
Oct 20, 2016 Barb (Boxermommyreads) rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2016-horror-challenge, 2016
I wasn't quite sure what to expect when I started this book but it turned out to be a perfect read for the Halloween season. Claire has just finished finals and is coming home for summer break. She immediately thinks something is wrong because her always reliable parents do not show up at airport to pick her up. Claire catches a taxi home to find police and emergency cars and personnel everywhere and soon learns her parents have been brutality murdered and her teenage brother J.J. is missing. Since the Vow, basically a peace agreement and legal pact, was made between vampires and humans over 130 years ago allowing vampires to live among humans, there is reason for concern when her parents suffer from numerous bites and have been completely drained of all their blood. Although Detective Reynolds has promised Claire he will get to the bottom of the crime and locate her brother, Claire cannot wait and starts an investigation of her own.

Although many would classify this as a paranormal romance, I think it's strength lies in the mystery waiting to be solved. Claire takes many steps to locate J.J. and her parents killer and there were a few twists and turns along the way which I didn't see coming. The book is extremely fast paced and there are quite a few interesting characters for the reader to meet along the way. I want to commend Daleo for not creating a dreaded "love triangle" which sometimes rears its ugly head in paranormal romance books. Also, the relationship that forms isn't really of the "insta-love" nature although I think most readers can see it coming almost right from the beginning. My only real issue with "The Vow" is Claire. I realize she is young and she wants to discover what happened to her family, but the girl made stupid move after stupid move and I'm surprised she made it out of the book alive! I kept waiting for Claire to get a clue but she must suffer from some undiagnosed impulsivity disorder. 

I have to admit that while it's probably not a popular opinion, I am in love with Gabriel. He is mean, crude and has no need for humans in his life but I just KNOW there is a heart in there somewhere. I only hope Daleo considers exploring Gabriel in a future book - a girl can hope. Overall, if you enjoy vampire books and don't mind a little romance (minus triangles and insta-love) then you should probably snag a copy of "The Vow." I've said it before regarding Daleo's books and I'll say it again - I respect vampires that don't sparkle!

Nov 01, 2016 Maia Silverdagger rated it it was amazing
One of the best vampire books I've ever read! I was completely under the author's spell from the very first page and found myself quite unable to tear myself away from this gripping book! Full of intrigue, we meet Beth, who's always had a mysterious and loving mist visiting her nightly. On a turbulent night, she meets vampire Phillipe and believes he is finally her mist in physical form. As she delves into the vampire world, she soon discovers there's much much more at stake and must face her past, present and future before she can resolve her love triangle. Full of mystery, intrigue, love, loss, deceit, and a world she never knew existed, this book took me on a roller coaster of palpable emotions and I truly felt for the characters as if they were real people. The writing was beautifully done with vivid descriptions that really set the mood, causing exquisite pictures in my mind as I read along. There was a bit of a cliffhanger at the end that made me gasp in anticipation and I can't wait to sink my teeth into the sequel! This is an absolute must read for any vampire lover or paranormal romance fan!

Nov 01, 2016 Maia Silverdagger rated it it was amazing
Yet another absolutely amazing vamp book to follow the first! Picking up 5 agonizing years after the first book ended, we meet a more mature and emotionally weathered Beth as she pines for her lost love while still trying to make things work with Philippe. Drinking herself into a stupor with both blood and wine, she tries to cope with her daily life and mend her torn heart. After a huge surprise at a gala thrown to cheer her up, she must finally choose who to love and is out for vengeance against those who wronged her. Teaming up with the most powerful vampire gods and a feared fire demon, they travel to London where her past comes back to haunt her in a wholly unexpected way. The emotions ran high again in this book as Beth battles with loss, love, undecisiveness, betrayal and trying to find a glimpse of happiness in all the fog. The descriptions were absolutely exquisite and I could just about hear the blood splatter in some scenes. The journey into the realm of the vampire gods again was amazing and a certain ritual at the end had my heart pounding and aching in sympathy and excitement! This series is absolutely amazing and I just can't wait to see what the author may bring in the future! Rivaling Anne Rice, these books are absolutely original, absorbing and amazing! A definite must read for any vamp lover, paranormal romance fan or thriller lovers!

  • Nov 09, 2016 Maia Silverdagger rated it it was amazing 
  • A stunningly captivating paranormal murder mystery! Set in an alternate time where vampires are accepted in the normal world under a vow that humans and vampires do not harm each other and vampires go to "blood banks" to get intravenous feeding instead of feasting on unwary humans. After Claire's parents are horrifically slaughtered, all the clues point to an unknown vampire as the murderer, and her brother JJ is missing. Claire believes the detectives aren't gaining enough ground on the case, so she is forced to befriend a vampire and goes sleuthing herself. Avoiding a persistent detective, she journeys into the dark underground world of vampirism and finds out some stunning secrets about her family's past while searching for her missing brother.
With tons of excitement, plot twists and quite a few unforeseen events that will punch you in the stomach and leave you breathless, this book was one amazing ride that will not let you go for a second! Completely original, the characters and intricate settings are completely believable and will completely suck you in. This book is a new take on vampires, as they exist with humans and has both good and bad vamps for you to love and despise. The characters were well built with palpable emotions and you get to really feel a connection with Claire. There's horrific times, stunning times, tender new love and even some hilarious yet macabre moments that left me thrillingly delighted. I thoroughly enjoyed every second of this book and am left thinking about it days after finishing it! If you want to try a new flavor of vampire fiction or murder mystery, this book would be perfect for you!

Nov 14, 2016Megan rated it really liked it
I thought this book was great… lots of fun to read and very creative. Describing it is a hard task! All sorts of interesting characters, and a terrific mix of fantasy, adventure, romance, and complex relationships. Although I did think the beginning started off kind of slow until I got more of a feel about this new world and the characters and their backgrounds, once things got moving along I really got into it. I liked that it was so descriptive that we can really put ourselves inside Beth’s perspective. Fabulous narrative prose and the dialogue and conversations with the characters were very authentic. Great chemistry with her and Amon (yum) and while there is some getting used to the story in the beginning, just hang in there as it makes sense soon. Recommend for dark fantasy/romance fans who want a complex, yet engaging literary read. Looking forward to reading more from Laura Daleo!

Nov 14, 2016 Megan rated it it was amazing
I was very impressed with how simply and effortlessly Laura Daleo can tell this addicting, multi-layered story with well-developed world building and great characters and still manage to make vamps fresh! Problem with so many of these types of books that I find is that they really are just ‘unbelievable’, or worse, just a retelling of the same tired plots. But even with the fantastical storyline we are all in, hooked on every scene, as the world building always follows its rules which is so important in books like this. Really liked the mix of ‘paranormal-meets-normal’ (vampires and humans co-existing in modern times), a mystery (who killed Claire’s parents), lots of danger and high stakes drama, and of course a romance. It has it all! I like Daleo’s writing style, very descriptive and passionate. An engaging and intoxicating read all through to the end that feels familiar enough to fit well in the genre, but fresh enough to keep us interested. Love the ending – it wraps up well and I love that it is a standalone (not a part of any series it would appear). But I can’t wait to read more from Laura Daleo in the future! Recommend for fans of YA and NA dark fantasy/ paranormal romance.

Nov 15, 2016 Brenda rated it really liked it
"The Vow” by Laura Daleo is a really good read with an interesting concept and some of the best narrative and prose I’ve come across in a long while….. And just when I thought I was done with vampires forever and had read every possible angle they could take. Make no mistake, there are plenty of subplots happening here, At times I almost felt like it was too much, although the author describes it very well, and I know it’s instrumental to the overall storyline and with what is happening with the main characters. It’s just sometimes seemed like overkill when I would’ve preferred to maybe see a deeper emotional relationship build between the characters instead. There are so many characters that come and go and at to me it just feels like ‘name soup’ where they are paper thin and pretty much indistinguishable from one another. But I enjoyed the complex storyline and Daleo writes with great energy that whisks us along. The thing that struck me the most was just how genuine and authentic it all came across… like how young adults and ‘creatures’ would really talk and act…. In a frighteningly good way. Curious to see if there will be more books like this and where they will go. The ending seems to perhaps leave room open for more from them, but I don’t really see any mention. Wraps up very well on its own though. Daleo doesn’t exactly reinvent the wheel here, but she does deliver quite a fun and entertaining ride for fans of suspenseful paranormal romance.

Nov 15, 2016 Brenda rated it really liked it
4.5 stars
I read a lot of paranormal/fantasy books, so this is a genre I’m familiar with. I’d just finished another book of Laura Daleo’s and really enjoyed it (“The Vow” – check it out), so I was curious to see how she would deliver in this one, “Bound by Blood”. Ms. Daleo is unarguably a very talented writer, but more than that she genuinely impressed me with her thorough world-building and sheer creativeness and inventiveness on many levels. All too often I read works that feel clearly derivative of other books, and although I appreciate literary influences (as is felt here as well), when something this original comes along it is a refreshing change of pace from the norm! After some time of getting acclimated to the storyline, (this is a continuation of an earlier book) I was definitely hooked. Some of the writing was downright lyrical in the simple elegance of the prose, and other times I was nearly breathless from the intensity and violent passion. Love watching the dynamic with Beth and Amon develop, and feel her struggle with Philippe. I finished in just a few sittings, and went through so many highs and lows, it felt like a rollercoaster. I enjoyed the ending and now I feel like I really need to read “Immortal Kiss” so that I can get all the backstory!! Recommend for fans of new-adult paranormal romance.

Nov 16, 2016 Steph Coleman rated it it was amazing
"Bound by Blood” is the first book I’ve read from Laura Daleo, but it came highly recommended from a person whose opinion I trust. Not only was I not disappointed, I was even more impressed with it than I’d expected to be! I loved Daleo’s storytelling abilities and style of writing—the distinctive ‘voice’ that you just can’t fake. You either have it or you don’t. It is so simple and easy to read, but each sentence and page packs so much emotion and imagery that you really get a bang for your buck. “Bound by Blood” is an intoxicating work of creativity, passion, sensuality, internal conflict, and imagination. It stretches the boundaries for this type of fiction in new ways that really impressed me. I read paranormal and fantasy all the time, (and a lot of vamp fiction) but this one stood out to me as being exceptionally beautifully written and feeling fresh and original. I finished it in three days which is practically a record for me because I’m a slow reader with not much time. But I couldn’t put it down! I was happy with the ending, but I really wish there were more! Recommend for older readers and fans of YA and NA paranormal.

Nov 16, 2016 Steph Coleman rated it really liked it
"The Vow” by Laura Daleo was such a great find! This is the second book of hers I’ve read now and I’m so happy I discovered this author. I like that I can really lose myself in the story and with the fascinating characters that are relatable, and not cookie cutter or perfect. But flawed and real. Daleo’s writing is very descriptive and I felt like I was really inside this unique world she created. I liked that it wasn’t just another formulaic vampire story… original, I thought, but at the same time comfortingly familiar. My only beef was that it felt like it took too long to really get going (even though there is good, crazy action at the beginning) for there to be the tension needed to really hook us in to having to keep reading. At times I thought some of the narrative went on a bit too long (too much ‘telling’ and excessive wordiness bordering on ‘purple prose’ at times) and there were some minor editing things I noticed. But despite that I really enjoyed these characters and losing myself in this world for a few nights. The conversations and dialogue were authentic for the age group (so important!) and the ending was bittersweet and made me happy. And no cliffhanger, thank goodness! Can’t wait to read the next book from Laura Daleo soon. Definitely recommend for fans of mystery/ paranormal & romance.

Nov 20, 2016 Jenna rated it really liked it
4.5 stars
"The Vow” by Laura Daleo takes us on a thrilling, sexy, supernatural journey. The beginning starts off with a shocking event with college student Claire discovering her murdered parents’ bodies, and the suspects are vampires who have possibly broken “The Vow”- a centuries old ‘peace treaty’ between humans and vampires (who are part of modern day society), and the way the story unfolds and how everything is connected pulls you in and takes you to another world where day and night collide. I have to say I really liked reading this and like the author’s writing style a lot and even though there are some disturbing elements, and many of the scenes are pretty fantastical, there is a level of believability there that makes reading these books a magical, rewarding, almost surreal experience. As I read tons of paranormal novels I already had the bar set pretty high in my mind for this one and I wasn’t at all disappointed at all. I think I even liked this one a bit more than normal--- I enjoyed the real world/fantasy world blend but still had that strong magical/paranormal element that is so much fun and wasn’t predictable. And I never really knew what characters I could trust or not so that kept me on my toes. While it’s not perfect (could use some better proofing and trimming of some unnecessary dialogue or descriptions) I thought the story as a whole was pretty great and I’m happy to have read it and will recommend it to fans of New Adult fiction, romance, fantasy, and paranormal.




Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you as soon as possible
Oops. An error occurred.
Click here to try again.